Today my big boy Dylan decided he was to big for those things called diapers. We had a day out planned with Nana so this was not a day I personally would have chosen to try out the big boy underwear, but I have no opinion nowadays as I have learned.
We started out late for our lunch date, not getting out of the house until 12:45 after battling the diaper and shirt issues with Dylan and brushing teeth, wearing long pants, and putting 3 different pairs of shoes on Livi. We got half way to Nana's house when I realized I had walked out the door without that spare pair of pants for Dylan. We had to turn around, but finally made it to Nana's at about 1:30. We went to Zaxbys for lunch and then to Walmart to pick up a few things. Dylan did great the whole time and even learned to used our portable potty in the van a few times. We still don't do public bathrooms if we can help it. I can't imagine trying to figure out how to hold Dylan to go potty without letting him touch anything in a bathroom, gives me goosebumps just thinking about it. Dylan made it through our entire outing without an accident which was GREAT because we were already like a walking circus through Walmart, I can't imagine having a kid pee everywhere on top of that! We just had to make one more drive-through stop to pay a bill and Diggy started getting a little fussy. I didn't think anything about it but should have because his pants were wet when we got back to Nana's. I guess he just didn't feel like saying potty for the 500th time of the day or something, but I'm counting on he was just getting tired because it was almost his nap time. He went back to the big boy underwear after his nap and hasn't had any more accidents today. I'm hoping he figures all this stuff out fast because it's hard to remember to remind him about pottying every 30 mins. when you have a 2yr old and a 3 yr old hanging on you 13 hours a day.
So this was our first outing without a diaper and it would be wonderful if this was the hardest experience but I'm not holding my breath for that one! I'm sure there will be some dramatic scene like when Livi ran over to the little trashcan in the aisle at Lowes and thought it was a nice potty to use. Can't wait!! I guess I should look at the bright side of not having to change or buy diapers anymore but the truth is I'm just not ready for my baby to grow up. I can't imagine what my days are going to be like come August. Alivia will be in school a few hours a day and I will not have any diapers to change. Where are my babies going? Everyone says they grow up fast but come on, it wasn't that long ago since that first positive pregnancy test. Was it?
Friday, April 17, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)




No comments:
Post a Comment