Sunday, April 19, 2009

The terrible two's struck today

The terrible two's struck in full force today. I knew they would be starting soon but thought I might still have a little time left. Dylan was such a whiny little heifer today! For some reason I feel no remorse in calling my child a whiny heifer. Here's a picture just for your enjoyment. Yes I was even mean enough to stop and take a picture. That of course didn't make him happy at all.




Alivia has been amazingly well behaved and promptly informed us as we ended our Sunday fishing trip early that she was tired of hearing her whiny little brother. She begged us to make him stop screaming because he was hurting her ears. Poor girl, although I was secretly laughing inside thinking "ha ha pay back honey". I think I might need a break because that was really mean of me.

On to more important things...

My parents have gone to the lake for a week. This leaves us prime time to work on this potty training stuff since we don't have anywhere we have to go. Dylan has still been doing really well and his daddy even took him out today without a diaper. This is a big step because daddy does not believe in any "unneeded stress situations". Dylan did perfect all day until about 5 o'clock when all heck broke lose at the fishing pond. I still can't figure out what went wrong there but obviously it was something really important.

Our plans for the day have been all out of whack. Partially because of Dylan and also because of the weather. They predicted 70% chance of heavy thunderstorms for this afternoon so we cancelled our cook out we had planned with a few friends. There is no point in having people over to just sit in the tiny boring house. As the day went on and the rain never came we decided we would go fishing and get some more dirt to fill in the huge tire ruts from the cement truck driving in our backyard. Dylan had his massive breakdown about 20 mins. into the fishing trip so we just got our dirt and came home so that he could go to bed. We got all our dirt out and put some grass seed out so maybe in a week or so our yard will look OK. Maybe we can have our ribs and badminton match next weekend. Maybe.

I think that is about all that has been going on. Not to much. Just spending about three hours a day in the bathroom with Diggy, three hours calming and consoling Diggy, half an hour arguing with Liv, and the rest of the time walking on egg shells as not to upset Dylan in some strange way again. That's about it.

Friday, April 17, 2009

Diaperless....

Today my big boy Dylan decided he was to big for those things called diapers. We had a day out planned with Nana so this was not a day I personally would have chosen to try out the big boy underwear, but I have no opinion nowadays as I have learned.

We started out late for our lunch date, not getting out of the house until 12:45 after battling the diaper and shirt issues with Dylan and brushing teeth, wearing long pants, and putting 3 different pairs of shoes on Livi. We got half way to Nana's house when I realized I had walked out the door without that spare pair of pants for Dylan. We had to turn around, but finally made it to Nana's at about 1:30. We went to Zaxbys for lunch and then to Walmart to pick up a few things. Dylan did great the whole time and even learned to used our portable potty in the van a few times. We still don't do public bathrooms if we can help it. I can't imagine trying to figure out how to hold Dylan to go potty without letting him touch anything in a bathroom, gives me goosebumps just thinking about it. Dylan made it through our entire outing without an accident which was GREAT because we were already like a walking circus through Walmart, I can't imagine having a kid pee everywhere on top of that! We just had to make one more drive-through stop to pay a bill and Diggy started getting a little fussy. I didn't think anything about it but should have because his pants were wet when we got back to Nana's. I guess he just didn't feel like saying potty for the 500th time of the day or something, but I'm counting on he was just getting tired because it was almost his nap time. He went back to the big boy underwear after his nap and hasn't had any more accidents today. I'm hoping he figures all this stuff out fast because it's hard to remember to remind him about pottying every 30 mins. when you have a 2yr old and a 3 yr old hanging on you 13 hours a day.

So this was our first outing without a diaper and it would be wonderful if this was the hardest experience but I'm not holding my breath for that one! I'm sure there will be some dramatic scene like when Livi ran over to the little trashcan in the aisle at Lowes and thought it was a nice potty to use. Can't wait!! I guess I should look at the bright side of not having to change or buy diapers anymore but the truth is I'm just not ready for my baby to grow up. I can't imagine what my days are going to be like come August. Alivia will be in school a few hours a day and I will not have any diapers to change. Where are my babies going? Everyone says they grow up fast but come on, it wasn't that long ago since that first positive pregnancy test. Was it?

Thursday, April 16, 2009

Just Another Thursday

Today has been a normal but nothing has gone as planned kind of day if that makes any sense. We woke up to a phone call on Cam's cell phone at 8 am on his day off, where he soon discovered the internal display on his $300 phone had quit working. This led to a morning on the phone with Verizon, Best Buy, and LG to figure out who was responsible to replace the phone because it has a one year warranty. After a trip to Best Buy, and two different Verizon stores in different cities he still has a broke phone but is on the "list" to get a new one when their next shipment comes in. We shall see how that goes. I have a feeling we are going to have another repeat day of today.

The kids and I stayed home after our cell phone running experience. I tried to get them to lay down and take a break but that was not happening. I guess they are feeling much better today. We have had two days without fevers and I think it's safe to say they are well again. I wish I could say the same for myself. I feel like I am starting to get a cold today but I feel better tonight than I did this morning so maybe that is a good sign.

This evening we had a dinner date with Cams' dad and his family for Dylan's birthday. We met at Applebees at 7 and didn't get out of there until shortly after 9. The food was sooo slow to come out! They blamed it on the kitchen but we watched four other tables get their food before us but were seated after us. To top it off Cam's steak was not cooked right so he didn't eat because everyone would be done by the time they got him a new one out. Needless to say our bill only ended up costing $33 for seven people to eat. I think we all vowed not to go back to Applebees for a very long time.

Wow now that I typed all this out It seems that Mr. Cam man had a bad day! Got a broken phone, a trip to the dentist, no dinner after fighting two kids in a restaurant for two hours. At least he sold one of his cars today. I guess I should be nice to him for the next couple of hours :0)

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

I'm back... and little man is now 2!!!


Guess what!! I was so wrong with my last post. Dylan was sick, which soon led to Livi being sick. It has been a long and pretty boring week with a bit of excitement mixed in.

Dylan had a fever all day Thursday but didn't really act bothered just a little quieter than normal. We thought he would get over it fast and maybe it was his 2yr molars coming in. Come Saturday morning he still had a fever and an awful hacking cough to go along with it. I decided to bring him into the doctor just to make sure he didn't have some kind of infection that could easily be treated with antibiotics so he could feel good for his birthday party on Sunday. The doctor looked him over and diagnosed him with a throat infection from his draining sinuses. He gave us a script for antibiotics and decongestant and sent us on our way. Everything should be better in a day or so.

One week, another doctor visit, and a $100 later both kiddos are now recovering from this "noncontagious it's just an infection from drainage" illness. It seems he had a viral throat infection that he spread to his sister. Just lovely!! So after a week of fever, pain and cough fighting this momma is tired!

On a good note we did have Diggy's Birthday/Easter party Sunday. Both the kids had a blast and Dylan got some toys that he just LOVES. Cam smoked a bunch of chickens for lunch and the weather was perfect. The kids had a 300 egg Easter egg hunt and racked up on the candy. Diggy was happy about all the Mickey Mouse decorations and it was just an all around good time. The cake we ordered from Publix was not the quality decorating that I expect from them (as you can see in the pics) but there wasn't time to change it even if I did complain so we just had a crooked sloppy cake. Dylan got a new hat from his "pop pop" and a new tool set and cars from his "nan" and we got him a basketball goal. He loves his new toys so much he asks if he can play again later when I tell him he has to go to bed. Of course he has to take his new flashlight that gg gave him to bed just like his big sissy!





Here are my poor sick babies on Dylan's actual birthday. I'm so glad they weren't this sick on Easter. Seriously have you every known the two of them to lay down anywhere together? They have been so sweet to each other. When one would fall asleep the other would find a blanket to put on and give a kiss night night. So sweet!


And just because I am posting pictures here are some of their Easter pics we had done!




Wednesday, April 8, 2009

Is it Wednesday Already?

Our first daily update! YAY!!

So today was a pretty hectic day! It started out at about 3:15 this morning when Liv decided it was time to wake up. I was just about to go to bed... thanks to my insomnia, when I heard the famous "Mommy can I go potty?". The potty break turned into a popsicle, a movie, and some good story telling. Before I knew it, it was 5 a.m. and Liv finally thought it was a good idea to go lay in bed with mom and dad.

About the time I dozed off I hear the cry of "moommmaaa". My Diggy man was now awake. This is not like my Diggy so of course I thought he must be sick. He was ok just wanted to get up. At this point both kids were up and rambunctious.

I finally got them both back in bed and myself to sleep at about 7:30am. When we finally all woke up about lunch time we were in a mad rush to get all our errands done in time. All in all it was a pretty productive day and every thing got done. By about 5 o'clock both kids were grumpy and I was counting down the minutes until bedtime!

On the bad side Mr. Diggy decided he needed a little snack today. I was helping Livi clean her room when I notice how quiet Diggy had been. I go in to check on him and found him sitting happily on the couch eating an entire box of Whoppers. The boy got the kitchen chair, moved it over to the counter, climbed up to the toaster oven and got the box down. I guess he got his candy fix for the day!

Just so I can admire my productiveness (I know that's not a word) here is a list of what got done:

-Delivered party invitations
-Ate the kids favorite waffles at Huddle House
-Got party supplies at Walmart
-Got balloons at the party store
-Ordered the cake at Publix
-Took the kids to our Wednesday date to the Mexican restaurant
-Washed all the clothes and bed linens (although these still need to be folded)

So that was our day in a nutshell...

My Awesome A and Delightful D


I will start with a few facts about my Awesome A and Delightful D:

The Awesome A: Alivia was born on July 28, 2005. Alivia finally decided to join us one day past due after an exhausting and stressful night at the hospital. The little monkey thought it was funny to squeeze her cord and make her heart beat stop, I guess she was just breaking me into her personality. She was 7.4 lbs of pure joy and excitement. When she was born instead of the peaceful nursery rhyme over the loud speaker we got a good ole fire alarm! Should have been my sign! I don't think that girl has slept for more than 2 hours at a time her whole life. She is sooo inquisitive and outgoing and never takes a break. As an infant she was always very advanced for her age. She was walking at 9 months. Talking in full sentences at 1.5, she even sang the whole Happy Birthday song to herself at her 2nd birthday. She is our little dancing star. She has always been drawn to music and sings to the top of her lungs every chance she gets... and I mean every chance. This girl had an Elmo infatuation from about 4 months until a year and a half. I think we own one of everything they made Elmo during that time. After that she was into bugs. She loved to catch them, look at 'em, sneak them into the house, you name it. She had a butterfly themed 2nd birthday where she got lots of bug catching gear. Maybe that was not such a good idea because now she is terrified of any bug that is not a ladybug or a rollipolli. Right now she is just a princess. Not any princess in particular, just a princess and you better not forget that. She is getting so big and is so smart. We cannot wait until she starts pre-k this fall because she is really looking forward to it.






The Delightful D: Dylan is total opposite of Alivia. Dylan was born on April 13th, 2007. He was 12 days early and huge. This boy was 8.10 lbs. If you know me this was a big baby. He was so cute and chubby and looked like a little football player. He loved to sleep and eat. I often wondered if there might be something wrong with him because he slept so much. He is very quiet and laid back and does things on his time. He is my mommas boy. When he was just two days old his sissy named him Diggy. This has continued to be his name and he has just started answering to Dylan in the past 4 months. He finally decided to start walking at 14 months and is just now starting to say a few things. He is very different from Alivia and that is A-OK with me. I think God is looking out for me because there is no way I could handle two kids like Alivia. :0) Diggy has never really taken an interest in one thing in particular. I think he knows that our house isn't big enough for an obsession like Alivia's Elmo's. He has recently been drawn to tools and bikes and loves to help daddy with the ongoing projects around the house. My little man will be turning 2 this coming Monday and we will be holding his birthday party this Sunday which also happens to be Easter. It should be fun!

Today I Start a Blog

Today I have decided to start a blog. As I am sitting here thinking about this weeks upcoming events I feel compelled to capture the special things in life. I am starting this blog as I sit in an silent house, kids in bed, dishes done, thinking of how in just 4.5 days my baby "the Delightful D" will be turning two years old. Where has the time gone? This blog is for me, my babies, and whom ever else my be interested in keeping up with our daily or weekly (haven't decided yet) activities. Be prepared for our ups and downs as I continue my journey of motherhood with the Awesome A and Delightful D!